Jan Eelen’s successful tv series The Tour has been selected for competition at the Series Mania Festival (16 - 22 April) in Paris, France. The festival for promising TV series, organized by the prestigious Forum des Images, also invited no less than three Eyeworks productions for its line-up. Double Life, The Divine Monster and Old Belgium will feature in the fest’s ‘professional showcase.’

The Tour_stillThe Forum des Images, one of the cinema hot spots in Paris and France, launched the Series Mania Festival in 2010. The series in official competition at the festival, amongst them Jan Eelen’s The Tour, are now in the running for the fest’s much desired Audience Award.

End of last year, The Tour was also nominated for Best Television Fiction at the Prix Europa Festival in Berlin (22 – 29 October), Europe’s biggest television, radio and new media festival. The Tour is a Woestijnvis production for Flemish public broadcaster VRT. The series is represented internationally by The New Flemish Primitives, the joint international sales outfit of Flemish indie producers Woestijnvis, deMensen and De Filistijnen Productions.

Woestijnvis is not the only company with a reason to celebrate. Producer Eyeworks has no less than three of its series in the festival line-up. Joël Vanhoebrouck’s Double Life, Hans Herbots’ The Divine Monster and Indra Siera’s Old Belgium will be shown in the ‘professional showcase.’ The festival’s new initiative offers the opportunity to all accredited participants to screen a number of series ‘à la carte’. Eyeworks will also get the chance to give a presentation on their tv series in the professional showcase.

Besides British and American tv ficion, the festival focuses on regions with ambitious TV productions such as Denmark (with a.o. the second season of The Government), Sweden (The Bridge) and now Belgium with Jan Eelen’s The Tour and three Eyeworks productions. The festival is also steadily building a reputation as a meeting place and market for TV professionals.

Published on Monday 2 April 2012

Preferential partners