Jaco Van Dormael’s epic Mr. Nobody was top of the heap at the inaugural edition of the Magritte du Cinéma, the French-speaking Belgian film awards. The film received awards in six categories: Best Film, Best Director, Best Script, Best Photography, Best Editing and Best Original Score.

Mr. NobodyBest Acting awards went to Anne Coesens for her role in Illegal and Jonathan Zaccaï for Elève libre. Christelle Cornil (Elève libre) and Jan Decleir (The Barons) grabbed the Best Supporting acting awards. Best newcomers were Pauline Etienne (Elève libre) and Joffrey Verbruggen (La regatta).

Other awards went to A Town Called Panic (Best Sound and Best Décors), Sister Smile (Best Costumes), Nuit blanche (Best Short), Les chemins de la mémoire (Best Documentary), and Looking For Eric (Best Co-production). Finally, an Honorary Magritte went to the late André Delvaux.

Mr. Nobody, Illegal, The Barons, A Town Called Panic and Sister Smile are all co-productions that received support from the Flanders Audiovisual Fund (VAF).

Guests at the ceremony included the Dardenne brothers, Benoît Poelvoorde, Jean-Claude Van Damme and Prince Laurent and Princess Claire of Belgium.


Published on Monday 7 February 2011

Preferential partners