Pieter Van Hees’s crime thriller Waste Land and Peter Krüger’s poetic docu-drama N – The Madness of Reason were the main winners at this year’s Ensors, the awards celebrating Belgian cinema from Flanders, taking home four and three Ensors respectively.

N - The Madness of ReasonWaste Land won Best Script, Best Supporting Actor (Peter Van den Begin) and Best Supporting Actress (Babetida Sadjo). Waste Land’s success was not a huge surprise, as the film also had the highest number of nominations. But it was the docu-drama N: The Madness of Reason that grabbed the top honour: Best Film.

Best Actor went to Gène Bervoets for his role in Paradise Trips, while Amaryllis Uitterlinden was named Best Actress for her performance in the musical rom-com Belgian Rhapsody. Actress Sirin Zahed from Marry Me was named Best Discovery.

Two other films were double-winners: Violet by Bas won Best Photography (Nicolas Karakatsanis) and the Special Achievement award for Boris Debackere; and Cub by Jonas Govaerts, which won Best Make-Up (Saskia Verrijcken and team) and Best Art Direction (Geert Paredis).

Named Best Shorts were L’infini by Lukas Dhondt (live-action) and Paradise by Laura Vandewinckel (animation).

The Ensor for Best Documentary went to Thomas Wallner and Eva Küpper for Gardenia – Before The Last Curtain Falls. Fabrice Du Welz’s Alleluia won Best Co-production.

Finally, the Telenet Audience Award went to Adil El Arbi and Bilall Fallah’s feature debut Image.

Published on Sunday 20 September 2015

Preferential partners