New Flemish drama series Team Chocolate is part of the line-up at Série Series, the French TV Series Summit (29 June – 1 July). The seven-parter, which is currently in post-production, will be part of the ‘In the Pipeline’ programme. In addition, Generation B will be in ‘What’s Next?’, a selection of programmes designed to reveal the series of tomorrow. Both series are produced by deMENSEN.

Team ChocolateA road trip-cum-love story, Team Chocolate follows Jasper and his mentally challenged co-workers at a chocolate manufacturing company as they embark on a road trip to find Tina, Jasper’s sweetheart, who has been deported back to her native Kosovo.

Jelle Palmaerts plays the main role alongside his colleagues at Theater STAP, a company of professional actors with mental disabilities. Other actors involved are Wim Opbrouck (Café Derby), Els Dottermans (Love Belongs to Everyone), Mieke De Groote (Cordon) and Jan Decleir (Daens).

Marc Bryssinck, artistic director of Theater STAP, teamed up with Filip Lenaerts to write and direct the series. Both will be attending Série Series in the company of Pieter Van Huyck, Head of Fiction at deMENSEN.

Van Huyck also joins the ‘What’s Next?’ presentation of Generation B with Joost Vandecasteele and Pieter Van Hees who created the series. A social satire, Generation B explores the conflict between youngsters suffering the consequences of the economic crisis and their baby-boomer parents who refuse to give up their comfortable lives.

Production company deMENSEN (Brothers United, Highway of Love) attended the Série Series TV summit last year to present Beau Séjour, a 10-part thriller in which a young girl sets out to solve her own murder case. The series will air in Belgium in early 2017.

Team Chocolate and Generation B will be broadcast on Belgian television in 2017. Co-producer of Tytgat Chocolate is Proximus. Beau Séjour, Tytgat Chocolate and Generation B all received support from the Flanders Audiovisual Fund/Film Fund of Flemish Media Minister Sven Gatz.

Published on Wednesday 29 June 2016

Preferential partners