Emilie Verhamme’s short film Cockaigne is to screen in the Competition of the 65th Festival de Cannes (16-27 May), while Leni Huyghe’s Matteus has been selected for the fest’s Cinéfondation competition. Both films are graduation projects of the Sint-Lukas Brussels University College of Art and Design.

Emilie Verhamme's CockaigneIn the 13-minute Cockaigne, Emilie Verhamme depicts the tale of a Ukrainian father and his two sons Andriy and Oleksander. Hiding in coffins, they travel from Kiev to Brussels in search of a better life. They are promised lodging and work by a Ukrainian friend of the family, but they soon become the victims of exploitation by other immigrants in a striking lack of solidarity. Principal roles are played by Oleg Farchteyn, Farch Stasteyn, Oleg Danilov and Beterbek Sedoj. DOP was Robin Dewitt, while Sam Sermon edited the film. The music was composed by Adriaan Swerts.

Leni Huyghe’s 18-minute short film Matteus follows Alice and Nico, a couple who move to the countryside with their ten-year old son, Mateo. The renovation of their new home takes up so much of their time and energy that they do not notice that their son has started acting strangely and once they do, it is already too late. Mateo Bal, Dolores Bouckaert, Arieh Worthalter, Pieter Genard, Seppe Cosyns and Filip Vekemans form the cast. Principal photography  was handled by David Williamson and Jakob Rosseel, editing was done by Tom Denoyette. Simon Hold arranged the short film’s score.

The Cannes Cinéfondation competition was created in 1998 to inspire and support the next generation of international filmmakers. Every year, 15 to 20 shorts and medium-length films from film schools around the world are selected. The winner is invited to present his or her next work in the Official Selection of the Festival de Cannes.

Both Cockaigne and Matteus are graduation projects of the Brussels-based Sint-Lukas film school. Alumni include Gilles Coulier (Iceland) and Pieter Dierckx (Bento Monogatori) who both grabbed selections for the Cinéfondation in 2010 and 2011 respectively.

Published on Thursday 19 April 2012

Preferential partners