EN - It all started with the music piece 'Respiration Suite' for a double woodwind quintet, written by the Dutch composer Jurriaan Andriessen (1925-1996) who based his composition on the physiology of human breathing. This piece was rewritten for a string quintet which is performing at the end of a long corridor. In one long take, the camera moves towards and away from the musicians. But instead of hearing the musical performance, we hear a slow version that is accompanying the subtle rhythm of the movement through the corridor, challenging the audio-visual perception of the viewer.


Title Suite Spiration
Original language no dialogues
Status Completed
Production Majority Flemish
Category Shorts , Experimental
Year 2009


Cast Mark Steylaerts, Veronique Gilis, Griet François, Karel Steylaerts, Hans Vandaele
Photography Yves Coussement
Editing Yves Coussement
Music Respiration Suite (Jurriaan Andriessen)

Technical specs

Running time film 15'9"
Release format 4K HD FILM
Aspect ratio 2:1
Sound format Dolby SR
Colour Colour


Supported by Flanders Audiovisual Fund (VAF)

There are no related news articles.

You must be logged in to view the press kit. Login

Don't have an account? Register

Last edited on 27 October 2015

Short info

Director Yves Coussement
Producers Yves Coussement
Writers Yves Coussement

Yves Coussement
Doornzelestraat 68
9000 Ghent
T +32 496 85 56 19

Preferential partners